Department of Physics

Year of establishment                       :           1967
About the Department:

           The Department of Physics was established in 1967, the year in which the college started. Physics was introduced as a major subject along with Mathematics for BSc courses. In the first year, the department was led by Mr. Narashimha Murthy during the first three months. After he left, Mr. Rama Rao came on the scene and worked till 1968. Mr. M H Narayana Swamy who was a brilliant teacher and hard worker then took the reins from 1968 to 2001. During his leadership, the department took great strides forward. In 1972 Mr. H. N. Subramanyam joined the department. Mr. J. Ramakrishna Somayaji, a brilliant old student of this college entered as a lecturer in 1981. The responsibility of the department was transferred to Dr. H N Subramanyam after the retirement of Mr. M H Narayana Murthy. The vacancy created by Narayana Swamy’s retirement was filled by Dr. Sudha, another old student of our college.  In 2006, Dr. Sudha left the college as she got appointed as an Assistant Professor of Physics at the Department of PG Studies in Physics at Kuvempu Universe. Later in 2007 Dr. H. N. Subramanyam got retired. Later, in 2009  Dr. Divyamani. B G. joined the department. And Mr. J. Ramakrishana Somayaji got retired in 2016. Presently Dr. Divyamani B G is serving as Head of the Department.

The department has a full-fledged laboratory with a built-up area of 190 sq.m accommodating the main laboratory, dark room, store room, and staff room. The laboratory is well equipped with equipment worth 15 lakh rupees. The department has about 3 thousand books in the main library and hundred books in the departmental library. The laboratory and the library facilities are shared by both degree and pre-university students.

Intake                                    :            60
Eligibility for admission    :           II PUC
Course duration                  :           3 years
Career opportunities for students: MSc in Physics, Bank exams, KPSC exams etc,


Dr. Divyamani. B.G.

Dr. B.G. Divyamani M.Sc., MPhil, PhD

Assistant Professor & HOD
Department of Physics
Tunga Mahavidyalaya

Events            : Special lectures, Education trips, Conducting Seminars and Workshops.

Tunga Mahavidyalaya

Tunga Mahavidyalaya (Kannadaತುಂಗಾ ಮಹಾವಿದ್ಯಾಲಯ) is located at the foothills of Anandagiri in Thirthahalli Town. Tunga Mahavidyalaya “is the offspring of” Tunga Vidyavardhaka Sangha – an association of the philanthropists. Thirthahalli Taluk is the birthplace of great writers, artists, Jurists and political leaders. Popular Kannada film actor Diganth is alumnus of this institute.

Google Reviews:

Tunga Mahavidyalaya
Based on 57 reviews
powered by Google
Anoop UpadhyaAnoop Upadhya
14:48 19 Mar 22
Best premises with neat campus
Subhash Adiga SSubhash Adiga S
06:12 17 Jan 22
It's good
Darshan ShetDarshan Shet
06:20 08 Jan 22
Located in the outskirts of Tirtahalli city, near Tudaki. College gets more and more attracted with the greenery that welcomes you with a freshness vibe. PUC, Under Graduation and Post Graduation courses are available in this college. Campus is included with Canteen, Xerox outlet, Sports complex, playground, library and auditorium.
Aishu AishwaryaAishu Aishwarya
08:00 26 Aug 21
Very attractive place and campus environment is soo awesome 🥰😍
My sis studies here ok ok college
Anoop UpadhyaAnoop Upadhya
14:48 19 Mar 22
ಅಚ್ಚುಕಟ್ಟಾಗಿ ಕ್ಯಾಂಪಸ್ ಹೊಂದಿರುವ ಅತ್ಯುತ್ತಮ ಆವರಣ
Subhash Adiga SSubhash Adiga S
06:12 17 Jan 22
ಇದು ಉತ್ತಮ
ಇಲ್ಲಿ ನನ್ನ ಸಿಸ್ ಅಧ್ಯಯನ ಸರಿ ಸರಿ ಕಾಲೇಜು

ಕೃತಿಸ್ವಾಮ್ಯ © 2023 ತುಂಗಾ ಮಹಾವಿದ್ಯಾಲಯ, ತೀರ್ಥಹಳ್ಳಿ University Zone | Developed By Rara Theme. Powered by WordPress.